My Account| Order Status| Customer Service| E-Mail Sign-Up| Order toll free 1-844-276-2016

Sidney Chambers and the Shadow of Death

Sidney Chambers and the Shadow of Death

James Runcie Paperback, 392 pages; 2014 (2012)
#UL8632 $16.00 $10.98

The young and handsome vicar of the English village of Grantchester, Sidney Chambers never fancied himself a detective. But when a lovely parishioner approaches him with her suspicions about an apparent suicide, he realizes that his vocation - as well as his gentle charm - nvites confidences from witnesses and suspects...and that he has a knack for uncovering the truth. Set in the 1950s, each Sidney Chambers book presents six interconnected capers - including a scandalous jewelry theft and a shocking art forgery in The Shadow of Death, and a case of arson in a glamorous photography studio and the poisoning of a renowned spin bowler in The Perils of the Night - in which the unconventional clergyman teams up with his drinking buddy Inspector Keating to solve the crimes. Along the way, Sydney ponders human nature, faith, and his own (increasingly complex) love life. It's such good, cozy fun that PBS adapted it for Masterpiece Mystery, so we're offering the two seasons of the absolutely charming series - starring a dashing James Norton as Sidney - as DVD (or Blu-ray) sets. We're confident devoted readers as well as newcomers to Grantchester will find it all delightful! See Season One and Season Two. (AG)

(UL8632) Sidney Chambers and the Shadow of Death


No Longer Available

$34.99 Starting at $24.99
Starting at $39.99
Go to top